Superheroes as Diversion

June 29, 2006

My workplace has again been struck by a reduction in force, for the fourth or fifth time within 12 months. Not a massive layoff, and supposedly more for reorganization of function than financial stress. They don’t like to say “layoff” anytime, but especially when it’s not an economic issue. Still the ghastly HRspeak of saying such-and-such employees have been “impacted” (i.e., we had to realign the department and we’re sorry to tell you that George, Dick, and Karl were impacted this morning) makes me want to puke. (Of course, if it really were a trio by that name I wouldn’t feel so bad.)It’s hard to get fired up about the whole prospect of the enterprise after that, I admit. And there’s a certain envy of those who’ve been handed a transition they didn’t have to agonize over. Ahead of time, at least. Still it never really feels good to be on that end and I wish it were otherwise.

And we’re all of us “impacted.”

I know the people making the decisions aren’t trying to depress us and put people’s lives out of joint. At least I think not. And I don’t think they’re stupid, though they may be feeling their way in the dark more than they’d like to let on. So the invective bubbles up but there’s no rational thing to do with it.

So we divert ourselves with things like the following, sent to me by another former colleague who left of her own accord and commiserated. It’s a short quiz of amusing questions that yields your superhero profile.

Here’s what it told me:

Your results:
You are Spider-Man

Spider-Man
70%
The Flash
65%
Superman
60%
Robin
57%
Catwoman
55%
Iron Man
55%
Supergirl
50%
Wonder Woman
50%
Hulk
50%
Green Lantern
50%
Batman
30%
You are intelligent, witty,
a bit geeky and have great
power and responsibility.

Click here to take the “Which Superhero are you?” quiz…

3 Responses to “Superheroes as Diversion”

  1. judah Says:

    thanks for the kind words and astute, accurate observations, Sandy.

    it was a privilege and honor to work with you and the rest of the gang.

    i am superman!


  2. Sandy … I missed this post until just tonight … really wonderful thoughts … speaks to the heart of the matter in terms we must speak carefully in. I have so many blog posts in me about everything … but must for the time being remain silent (until my severance runs out 🙂 … But truly, it was wonderful working with you. I wish it could have gone on longer … for all the right reasons.

    Hrrm. I think I am Underdog. Remember him?

  3. Paul Kerstein Says:

    A late comment, but hopefully on the mark: It was a tough blow, to be sure. The talent that was lost could definitely have found a place within the new regime. There’s something fishy in Denmark and the men and women left standing certainly have a funny taste in their moughts.

Leave a Reply

